Conference of Leaders of Religious Institutes (NSW)

Membership Information 

Click here to read our Statutes


All leaders of congregations of men and women in NSW are eligible by paying an annual fee, currently set at $40 per capita on congregational members. The annual fees fund the operation of the CLRI(NSW) office, as well as services and programs for members.


The Conference is governed by an Executive Committee of thirteen members elected at the Annual General Meeting from the Conference at large, led by a President. The Past President and the President Elect assist the President in performance of the allocated duties. There is at least one representative of the sisters, brothers and priests on the Executive Committee. The Executive Committee meets six times per annum, at roughly two monthly intervals, for a day at the Rosebery office of CLRI(NSW)

At meetings, the Executive Committee receives a report from each of the committees and other working parties of CLRI(NSW), as well as a report from the Finance Manager and the Executive Director. Issues affecting the membership are discussed and decisions made about future action and projects.

Top of Page


The CLRI(NSW) presidents, - past, current and elect, work in collaboration and consultation with each other, the other Executive Committee members and the Executive Director.

Fr Tony Banks osa

Fr Tony Banks osa
President of CLRI(NSW)


Executive Committee 2012-13

Sr Lauretta Baker rsj Lochinvar
Fr Tony Banks osa - President


Sr Barbara Bolster rsm Grafton
Sr Pauline Compton fdnsc  Sydney
Fr Paul Cooney sm - Past President Sydney
Br Jeff Crowe fms  Sydney
Sr Kerrie Cusak rsj Goulburn
Sr Laureen Dixon rsc President Elect Sydney
Sr Bernadette Fitzgerald rsc Sydney
Br Timothy Graham oh Sydney
Sr Judith Lawson op Sydney
Sr Susan Miller pbvm Wagga Wagga
Sr Joan Pender rscj Sydney
Sr Catherine Ryan rsm Sydney
Sr Jan Ryan rgs Sydney
Sr Jennifer Ryan rsm Sydney

Top of Page


CLRI(NSW) is managed from an office in Rosebery led by Executive Director, Sharon Price rsm aided part-time by Administrative Assistant Mrs Ann Paynter, Finance Manager and Information Technology contractor, Mr Greg Costello 

Member Congregations

CLRI(NSW) is composed of representatives of

  • 60 Congregations of sisters (following)

  • 7 Congregations of brothers (following)

  • 24 Congregations of priests (following)




Basilian Nuns 
Benedictine Nuns 
Blessed Sacrament Sisters 
Brigidine Sisters 
Daughters of Charity 
Daughters of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart 
Daughters of St Paul 
Discalced Carmelite Nuns (Goonellebah) 
Discalced Carmelite Nuns (Varroville) 
Discalced Carmelite Nuns ( Manuka) 
Discalced Carmelite Nuns (Wagga Wagga) 
Disciples of the Divine Master 
Dominican Sisters 
Dominican Sisters of Malta 
Franciscan Missionaries of Mary 
Good Samaritan Sisters, Australia 
Good Samaritan Sisters, NSW 
Good Shepherd Sisters 
Holy Faith Sisters 
Holy Family of Nazareth Sisters 
Holy Spirit Missionary Sisters 
Little Company of Mary 
Little Sisters of the Poor 
Loreto Sisters 
Marist Missionary Sisters 
Marist Sisters 
Maronite Sisters of the Holy Family 
Missionary Apostles of Christ in the Eucharist Sisters
Missionary Sisters of Mary Queen 

Our Lady's Nurses for the Poor 
Passionist Sisters 
Poor Clares 
Poor Clares (Contemplative) 
Presentation Sisters (Lismore) 
Presentation Sisters (Berala) 
Religious of the Sacred Heart
Salesian Sisters 
Schoenstatt Sisters of Mary 
Sisters of Charity 
Sisters of Mercy (Goulburn)
Sisters of Mercy (Gunnedah) 
Sisters of Mercy (Wilcannia-Forbes) 
Sisters of Mercy (Singleton) 
Sisters of Mercy (Grafton) 
Sisters of Mercy (Parramatta) 
Sisters of Mercy (Bathurst) 
Sisters of Mercy (North Sydney)
Sisters of Our Lady of Sion 
Sisters of St Joseph (Lochinvar) 
Sisters of St Joseph (Perthville) 
Sisters of St Joseph (Goulburn) 
Sisters of St Joseph (Burwood) 
Sisters of St Joseph Generalate 
Sisters of St Joseph of California 
Sisters of St Paul of Chartres 
Ursuline Sisters 
Verbum Dei Missionaries 



Christian Brothers 
De La Salle Brothers 
Marist Brothers 
Marist Brothers, Southern Province 

Mother of God Brothers 
Patrician Brothers 
St John of God Brothers 


Benedictine Fathers 
Blessed Sacrament Congregation 
Capuchin Franciscan Friars 
Carmelite Fathers 
Columban Fathers 
Discalced Carmelite Friars 
Divine Word Missionaries 
Dominican Fathers 
Franciscan Friars 
Friars Minor Conventual 
Marist Fathers 
Maronite Fathers 
Missionaries of the Sacred Heart 
Missionary Society of St Paul Fathers
Passionist Fathers 
Pauline Fathers 
Redemptorist Fathers 
Salesian Fathers 
Scalabrinian Fathers 
Society of Christ 
Society of St Paul 
Vincentian Fathers 

Top of Page